Great Expectations… please don’t have them

I wanted to inform all of you (or both of you, at least) that May’s classic is Great Expectations, by Charles Dickens. I’m not sure why I picked this one but I felt it was about time to throw Dickens into the mix and because I was spoiled on the end of A Tale of Two Cities I don’t know if I’ll ever want to read it. This means that Great Expectations wins by default as it is the only other Dickens book on my shelf.

I think we’ve all heard a lot about the guy and so I’m rather excited to get started. Also there’s the potential of this conversation…

“Oh, you’re reading Great Expectations? Is that for school?”

“No, I’m just reading it.”

“Ooooh, that’s neat.”

In my head, “Yeah, that’s right, I *am* this deep.”

Maybe I’m a bit of a literature egomaniac, even if I don’t really have the credentials to be one. Yet. I cannot express how much I love being in on a literature reference. It’s the best feeling, especially when no one else gets it.

Now what does that say about me as a person?

~ by mysticsquirrel on May 3, 2010.

Leave a comment